Sunday, July 3, 2011

Day 25: Pork Chops

Tonight we made Italian Breaded Pork Chops, another recipe courtesy of allrecipes.com. That is the site I get most of my recipes from. I like to follow recipes and not just wing-it in the kitchen. That makes me nervous. I like to know exactly how much of everything to put into a dish. I am not big on taste testing my food, so that is the only way I know it will turn out. So anyway, Sam found this recipe while at work and sent it to me. I pretty much followed it exactly except that I used my GF bread crumbs (corn meal) and since they were unseasoned I had to make them taste Italian (parsley, Italian seasoning, garlic, salt and pepper). I also used almond milk and two eggs instead of three. I baked them on a broiler pan so they would stay crispy. I made steamed asparagus and sweet potatoes to go with them. For Sam and the baby, I made some GF mac and cheese (unfortunately it was real cheese so I couldn't eat it). I forgot to take pictures of this meal so just imagine how wonderful it looked!

I also had an unscheduled meal at a fast food restaurant today. I brought my son to school and as I was on my way to Whole Foods to restock our GF pantry, a friend called me to ask if I could watch her kids while she went to the doctor. Well, we ended up meeting at the park near the hospital and I watched her two kids and my one kid for about 2 hours. While I was at Whole Foods I bought some cut fruit so me and the kids could snack at the park. I also bought the kids some fruit bars (not GF, this was a mistake as I found out later). Once my friend got out of her appointment it was too late for me to drive all the way home and then come back to get Daniel so I asked if she wanted to go out to eat. We went to Wendy's for lunch. I had looked at their GF menu befor so I know their salads were all GF except for the croutons. I wanted to try the new Berry Almond Chicken Salad. It was good, but I forgot about the cheese and ended up eating a little before I realized it. It was good and nice to go out to eat fast food again. Although I did miss the french fries : )

No comments:

Post a Comment