Saturday, July 9, 2011

Well, now what?

It has been 8 days since we have officially finished our GF-CF challenge. I started out eating a little bit of dairy for the first 3 days and one day I had an ice cream sandwich and therefore had gluten. But other than that I haven't had any gluten yet even though I planned on eating gluten starting on day 4. A friend of mine from high school, who is now a smart neurology person (but not a MD), told me that in neurology trials it takes 4-8 weeks to really make a change in the brain. So she recommended I stick with this diet a little bit longer. So as a result of that, Daniel still has not had any gluten or casein. Until a few days ago, I was eating a bit of dairy or gluten every day. But I had some severe abdominal pain and I am attributing it to eating too much dairy after not having any for a month.

So, what have we been eating since? Well, not much since I really didn't plan on having to be on the diet this long and I got the flu this week so Sam is lucky he is eating at all ; ) I made another huge Whole Foods run this morning and spent another $100+ there. One thing I did buy was some Probiotics. Since we haven't been eating any yogurt, I feel like that may be making us both a little "sluggish". I am hoping that they help because they are pretty expensive. The link I posted talks about how it can also help with milk intolerances. So we will be trying that out for the next two weeks or so.

So tonight I am making Chicken and Rice Soup. I am pretty much just making up this recipe, and since I don't do that well, I am kinda nervous. I am pretty much going to put chicken broth, leftover chicken, rice, carrots, and celery. Hopefully it will turn out ok. I will let you know.

No comments:

Post a Comment